SA Olive Honours Outstanding Industry Individuals

As part of its ongoing commitment to promote excellence the South African olive oil industry and recognise outstanding contributions by industry individuals, SA Olive has announced the recipients of its annual Mentorship Award and Olive Achiever of the Year. The winners received their respective certificates at the SA Olive Awards ceremony held at Kronenburg in Paarl on Thursday, 1 September.

The 2016 Mentorship Award went to Michael van den Langenbergh of Goedgedacht. SA Olive initiated its mentorship programme in 2008 with the aim of nurturing talented youth for careers in the olive industry. The participants in the programme are workers employed by SA Olive’s member producers.

This year’s winner Michael impressed the judges with his tenacity and ambition. At only 33 years of age he has already advanced to a managerial position and boasts impressive experience in the industry. He has also played a significant leadership role by being a career mentor for other promising youngsters, an important development objective of the programme.

The Olive Achiever of the Year is Reni Hildenbrand from Hildenbrand Wine and Olive Estate in Wellington. She was honoured for her long-standing service to the local industry. An internationally recognised olive oil taster, she co-founded the SA Olive Awards and continues to promote industry standards as judge and administrator at various competitions. She was also praised by her colleagues for being a prominent role model for women in agriculture.

SA Olive also gave recognition to a trio of outstanding individuals who were the top achievers in the recent three-day technical tasting course presented by the international olive oil expert Dr Antonio G Lauro from Italy. Certificates of Participation were awarded to Adriaan Davids (Gabriëlskloof), Esolda Cilliers (Willow Creek) and Basil Koopman (Oudewerfskloof).

For more information contact SA Olive at tel 021 870 2900, email or visit

The SA Olive Awards are generously sponsored by MORI-TEM/OLIOMIO, Pieralisi and Absa.

Keep up to date with the latest SA Olive news via social media: Facebook and Twitter. Join the conversation using #SAOliveAwards

Member Login