Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting was hosted at Diamant Estate, Suid-Agter Paarl on 7 Feb 2018. We would like to thank Netafim for their sponsorship of the event.

The day kicked off with a presentation from Ashia Petersen from the Western Cape Department of Agriculture on what the current state of the drought in the Western Cape is. The rainfall data and info on the current state of the dams she presented lead to lots of discussion and suggestions on how to improve the current situation.

Meagan Vermeulen, a PhD student of Prof Francois Halleen from ARC Infruitec-Nietvoorbij, presented results from the olive trunk disease project. This 3-year project is funded by Department Trade and Industry’s THRIP programme in collaboration with SA Olive, and aims to clarify what the olive trunks diseases in South Africa are and what possible management strategies can be implemented for control.

Mariette Kotze from Hortgro enlightened members as to why they need to complete their annual tree census forms and why industry statistics is essential for any industry to move forward. As part of the presentation Thandeka Ntshangase, also from Hortgro, presented a summary of information gathered on the South African Olive industry during the last decade, including export figures.

The presentations were followed by the official annual general meeting proceedings and both the manager and chairman highlighted points of interest. The manager gave members feedback on the progress made during the past year and the chairman shared his outlook on the future of both the local and international olive industry.

The meeting concluded with a lunch on the patio which gave all time for networking in true SA Olive style.

The 2018 Board Members were announced at the AGM which includes: Steve Wilson, Pieter du Toit, Nick Wilkinson, Pieter Vorster, Tiaan Ras, Kelly White, John Scrimgeour, Arend Hofmeyr, Reni Hildenbrand, Willie Duminy, Linda Costa.


Member Login