SA Olive Awards – SA’s Top Extra Virgin Olive Oils – 2018

A total of 93 extra virgin olive oils (EVOO) were entered into the 2018 competition – a slight increase over last year’s 87 entries. The panel awarded 21 gold, 34 silver and 26 bronze medals, which made 87% of the competing oils medal worthy.

From left to right:
Front: Nick Wilkinson (Rio Largo Olive Estate), Willie Duminy (Porterville Olives), Jan Hendrik Basson (Porterville Olives), Daniel Munzvenga (Zoetigheyd Farms), Hester Cupido (Olyfberg Vrugte), Nico Loubser (Morgenster Wine & Olive Estate) Middle: Chris van Niekerk (Mardouw Olive Estate), Alexis Kearney (Lapithos Olive Growers), Lizelle Joubert (Oakhurst Olives), Joop Steenkamp (De Rustica Estates) Back: Peter Unite (Zoetigheyd Farms), Bob Hobson (L’Ormarins), Bryan Beverley (L’Ormarins), Sandy Jeffery (Diepsak Farm), Pieter du Toit (Oakhurst Olives), Gert van Dyk (Tokara), Philip King (Mardouw Olive Estate), Perry Chaloner (Chaloner), Pieter Coetsee (Marbrin Farm), Briony Coetsee (Marbrin Farm), Clive Heymans (Marbrin Farms).

2018 is a year in which South African olive oil producers truly showed their mettle. In adverse drought conditions, which can easily lead to bitterness in oils, the judges on this year’s tasting panel described the competing oils as having ‘a wonderful array of aromas and flavours’. This speaks of the industry’s ability to adapt and innovate under challenging conditions.

According to the 2018 tasting panel leader, Sue Langstaff, “there were excellent oils this year. People have been saying conditions were very difficult, and some oils had minor issues, but generally most of them were in the silver category and then there were some very good gold oils”. Sue went on to say that South African extra virgin olive oils compare very well with old world oils from Italy, Greece and Spain, as well as with other new world oils from Chile, Argentina, Australia, Peru and New Zealand. She considers new world producers to be more willing to experiment with new ideas.

Nick Wilkinson, Chairman of SA Olive, is very confident about the future of the industry when reflecting on the positive comments by acclaimed international judges serving on this year’s tasting panel. He commented “that despite the horrendous drought and challenging growing conditions our growers have once again produced world quality premium oils. Competitions like the SA Olive Awards and the ABSA Top 10 Awards not only shine a light on the skills of SA olive oil producers, they also encourage South African and international consumers to buy locally produced extra virgin olive oils. The industry has shown itself to be forward thinking and innovative in all aspects of production. If Government triggers their development plan, which recognises the upside this industry has in job creation and import substitution, we could play a positive role in addressing the very real problems facing our country.”


And the winners in the Delicate category are …
GoldDiepsak FarmGreen & Gold PremiumDelicate
GoldOlyfberg VrugteOlyfberg EVOO Blend ADelicate
GoldRio Largo Olive EstateRio Largo Gold EVOODelicate
GoldTokaraTokara Mission EVOODelicate
SilverBabylonstorenBabylonstoren Frantoio EVOODelicate
SilverCederberg OlivesCederberg Olives FrantoioDelicate
SilverChalonerChaloner Barnea EVOODelicate
SilverDe Rustica Estates De Rustica Estate Range EVOODelicate
SilverKleinoodKleinood De Boerin EVOODelicate
SilverKransfonteinKransfontein Estate Mission EVOODelicate
SilverLapithos Olive GrowersLapithos EVOODelicate
SilverMarbrin FarmMarbrin Farm Delicate EVOODelicate
SilverPG Fruit Olives PG Fruit Delicate EVOODelicate
SilverWillow Creek Olive EstateBanting Revolution EVOODelicate
SilverWillow Creek Olive EstateFood Lover’s Signature EVOODelicate
BronzeDarling Olives Darling Olives EVOODelicate
BronzeIn Our Green House T/A Mount Ceder OlivesMount Ceder Olives EVOODelicate
BronzeOakhurst OlivesOakhurst Delicate EVOODelicate
BronzeRockhaven FarmRockhaven EVOODelicate
BronzeThe Greenleaf Olive CompanyRiver Press EVOO Delicate
And the winners are in the Intense category are …

GoldMarbrin FarmMabrin Olive Growers Directors Reserve EVOOIntense
GoldMardouw Olive EstatePremium XXV Intense EVOOIntense
GoldPorterville OlivesAndante Intenso EVOOIntense
SilverKransfontein Estate Kransfontein Estate Coratina IntenseIntense
SilverMarbrin FarmMarbrin Farm Intense EVOOIntense
SilverMorgenster Wine & Olive EstateMorgenster Intense EVOO Intense
SilverTokaraTokara Premium EVOO Intense
SilverPorterville OlivesAndante Forte EVOOIntense
SilverRio Largo Olive EstateRio Largo Premium EVOOIntense
BronzePrince Albert OlivesPrince Albert EV Karoo Blend Intense
BronzeWillow Creek Olive EstateWillow Creek Privé EVOO OIntense
And the winners are in the Medium category are …

GoldChalonerChaloner Nocellara Medium EVOOMedium
GoldLapithos Olive GrowersLapithos Medium EVOOMedium
GoldDe Rustica Olive EstatesDe Rustica Estate Collection Frantoio EVOOMedium
GoldL’OrmarinsTerra del Capo EVOOMedium
GoldL’OrmarinsL’Ormarins Medium EVOOMedium
GoldMardouw Olive EstateMardouw Oil of the Olive EVOOMedium
GoldMorgenster Wine & Olive Estate Morgenster Don Carlo Medium EVOOMedium
GoldNamaqua Olives Namaqua Frantoio Medium EVOOMedium
GoldNamaqua Olives Namaqua FS17 / Frantoio Medium EVOOMedium
GoldOakhurst OlivesOakhurst Medium EVOO Medium
GoldSerrado Olive Estate Serrado Estate Medium EVOOMedium
GoldZoetigheydDaniel’s Delish EVOOMedium
GoldZoetigheydFarm Fresh EVOOMedium
GoldZoetigheydCosta’s Colours EVOOMedium
SilverAnysbos OlyweAnysbos EVOOMedium
SilverBabylonstorenBabylonstoren Blend EVOOMedium
SilverDe Rustica Estates De Rustica Estate Collection EVOO Medium
SilverDe Rustica Estates De Rustica Estate Range Medium EVOOMedium
SilverKleinbergskloof Olive EstateKleinbergskloof Estate Blend EVOOMedium
SilverKransfontein EstateDirectors Reserve EVOOMedium
SilverLions Creek Olive EstateDon Carlo Medium EVOOMedium
SilverLions Creek Olive EstateFavolosa Medium Reserve EVOOMedium
SilverMarbrin Farm Marbrin Medium EVOOMedium
SilverOlyfberg Vrugte Olyfberg Medium  EVOOMedium
SilverOudewerfskloofOudewerfskloof Medium EVOOMedium
SilverRio Largo Olive EstateRio Largo Medium EVOOMedium
SilverPrince Albert OlivesPrince Albert EV Karoo BlendMedium
SilverTokaraTokara Frantoio EVOOMedium
SilverTokaraTokara Multi Varietal Medium EVOOMedium
SilverWildekrans Wine Estate Wildekrans Field Blend EVOOMedium
Silver ZoetigheydZoetigheyd Green Harvest Medium EVOOMedium
BronzeDe Rustica EstatesDe Rustica Estate Collection Coratina Medium
BronzeDiepsak FarmGreen & Gold Medium EVOOMedium
BronzeFraaigelegen FarmAdhara Medium EVOOMedium
BronzeFriesland FarmFriesland Medium EVOOMedium
BronzeGabriëlskloofGabriëlskloof  Medium EVOOMedium
BronzeGantouwGantouw Medium EVOOMedium
BronzeHillcrest Estate DurbanvilleHillcrest Estate Durbanville EVOOMedium
BronzeKadimah Olive Estate Kadimah Lourdes MediumMedium
BronzeKransfontein Estate Kransfontein Estate Frantoio  EVOOMedium
BronzeKredouw Olive EstateFavalosa Medium EVOOMedium
BronzeLions Creek Olive EstateKaroo Blend Medium Medium
BronzeNamaqua Olives Namaqua Leccino / Frantoio Medium EVOOMedium
BronzeOlyvenbosch Farm Olyvenbosch EVOO On TapMedium
BronzeTerra Rossa Terra Rossa Napier EVOOMedium
BronzeMontpellier Three Sisters EVOO Medium
BronzeTokaraTokara Estate EVOOMedium
BronzeWildekrans Wine EstateWildekrans Endless EVOOMedium
BronzeWildekrans Wine EstateWildekrans Keerweer EVOO Medium
BronzeWaterleliefonteinWaterleliefontein EVOOMedium


Member Login