SA Olive Awards 2012

SA’s best olive oils announced

Out of a total of 63 olive oils entered by 39 producers, 19 of the country’s leading olive oil producers were last night(23 August 2012) honoured with gold medals at the SA Olive award ceremony. According to Leonard Arangies,SA Olive manager and one of the judges, entries were blind judged over a period of three days.

”The South African consumer is increasingly aware of the high quality of locally produced olive oils and keeps a close eye on the results of this competition,” says Andries Rabie, SA Olive chairperson.


Full Results & Media Reports

2012 SA Olive Awards Results

Media Reports


Life Time Achiever Honoured

Lifetime Award Achiever – Giulio Betrand (Morgenster Estate)

Giulio Betrand, owner of the historic Morgenster Estate in Somerset West, was honoured with a Life Time Achiever trophy, sponsored by Absa, for his invaluable contribution to the local olive industry. Italian borne Bertrand bought Morgenster in 1992 with his retirement in mind, but the beauty of the surroundings reminded him of his Tuscan homeland and today Bertrand produces top quality olive oil and wine. He is responsible for importing 90% of all cultivars that producers today farm with and run a top of the range olive nursery.


Intense Category Award Winners

Intense Category Award Winners

Gold medal winners in the intense category include Marbrin, Bakenshoogte, Gabrielskloof, Kleinood, Lettas Kraal and Waterfall River.


Medium Category Award Winners

2012 Medium Category Award Winners

The category for medium olive oils produced the most gold medals: Rio Largo (2), Buck’s Ridge Olive Estate, Indigo Ridge, Kleinveld Flora, L’Olivier, McGreggor Olives – Olivi, Prins Albert Olives and Vesuvio Estates.


Delicate Category Award Winners

Delicate Category Award Winners

Each gold medal winner received a glass trophy sponsored by Absa. An additional 30 silver medals and 8 bronze medals were awarded.

Download Full Results

Member Login